Sunday, February 19, 2017

Review: "The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett" by Chelsea Sedoti

Hawthorn wasn't trying to insert herself into a missing person's investigation. Or maybe she was. But that's only because Lizzie Lovett's disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don't happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she'll turn up at any moment-which means the time for speculation is now. So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie's disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously...at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie's life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie's boyfriend. After all, it's not as if he killed her-or did he? Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn's quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.

Thanks to Sourcebooks Fire via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
"The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett". What can I say? I really did not like this book at first. I did not like Hawthorn at all. She was annoying and weird, and although her blunt remarks on Lizzie's disappearance made me snicker, I wasn't sure I could handle several hundred pages of it. Then I realized that Hawthorn reminded me of myself at that age, oops! So insecure, hardly any friends. At least I had gymnastics to keep me busy in the evenings and on weekends, but Hawthorn turns that downtime into a time to investigate Lizzie's disappearance, which is seriously a bad idea. She starts by getting Lizzie's old job, waitressing as a café in the next town over. I suppose this is somewhat understandable since Hawthorn was looking for a job anyway, so even though it was a little strange for her to go into the café snooping around for dirt on Lizzie, I could look at it as "being-in-the-right-place-at-the-right-time". A vacancy opened when Lizzie disappeared, and somebody needed to fill it, whether it was someone like Hawthorn, a girl with, let's face it, ulterior motives, or not.

From there, things got even more strange. Hawthorn strikes up a friendship with Lizzie's boyfriend. Then, she comes up with this bizarre theory on Lizzie's disappearance! At this point, I was thinking, "This girl is nuts!" Really, Hawthorn had no proof that Lizzie's boyfriend was not involved in the disappearance, just some sort of gut feeling, or wishful thinking, maybe. Anyway, by this point of the book, I was quite invested in finding out just what the heck was going on, and no matter my irritation with Hawthorn and her increasingly stupid decisions, I still had to read on!

There are some really touching moments between Hawthorn and her family and friends, and those were some of the most redeeming qualities of this book for me. I especially ended up loving Hawthorn's brother, which was a bit of a surprise. There were also some moments that made me rather uncomfortable, but I think they were necessary for the arc of the story, so I wouldn't take those moments back at all.

Would I recommend this book? I think certain readers will appreciate seeing the world through Hawthorn's eyes, but I predict that others will not know what to make of "The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett". All I can say to prospective readers is stick with it past the first few chapters and you might be as surprised by this one as I was.

My rating:

Review: "The Reluctant Cowboy" by Kate Pearce


After a turbulent childhood, the Morgan brothers went their separate ways, leaving the family cattle ranch and their cowboy days far behind. But now, one by one, they’re being called back home to California. Have they been summoned to save the land—or to start a new legacy?     Chase Morgan high-tailed it away from ranching life as soon as possible. But running a successful technology company can’t erase the memories, or secrets, of his youth. Coming home to help his Grandma Ruth may finally put some ghosts to rest—if he can just get a certain smart, beautiful houseguest out of his business. But getting her out of his head is proving even more difficult…   Determined to save the Morgan ranch, historian January Mitchell has pinned her hopes on the surprisingly rugged, surprisingly likable, and exasperatingly stubborn Chase. Surely his love of this breathtaking, mysterious land runs deep enough that he’ll once again embrace his inner cowboy. Or maybe, despite both of their skittish hearts, she’ll have to find a way to get him back in the saddle…any which way she can.         “If you love cowboys—and who doesn’t—you’ll love the Morgans!” --Cora Seton, New York Times bestselling author

Many thanks to Kensington Books via Netgalley for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
I have a confession to make - I always wanted to be a cowgirl.  I asked Santa for a horse every Christmas. I watched "Little House on the Prairie" religiously. I read Westerns, big ones like "The North and the South". I was jealous of all my friends who had horses. I even went through a short-lived country music phase (hides head in shame!) complete with a Tim McGraw concert and line dancing lessons! And yes, I still have the boots to prove it. Anyway, over time, I came to the conclusion that I was born into the wrong family, but, that doesn't mean a girl can't live vicariously through fictional characters, right? Exactly why I thought it might be time to read about a former cowboy-turned-computer-geek going back home to his family ranch and falling in love.

There was a lot I really liked a lot about this book. Primarily, I loved the ranch setting and the common goal of keeping it up and running and turning it into a heritage site. I also found the main characters, Chase and January, to be likable and interesting. Their chemistry was great, and the fact that they had a strong friendship building between them only made the romance sweeter. The mystery of what happened with Chase's mom, dad, and baby sister kept me reading - I just had to find out what had happened all those years ago to make Chase's family fall apart! And then there was the introduction of Chase's brother, Blue - hmmm, I could definitely do with more of him!

There were a couple of things I thought could have been improved upon, but I think to impart those things here would be considered spoilery.  So yeah, this book was not perfect, but it was definitely enjoyable enough for me to want to pick up the next installment. And of course Chase's brother Blue is featured in that one, and he is super intriguing, so there is that, haha!

My rating:
























Monday, February 13, 2017

Sale Alert! "Paper Hearts" by Claire Contreras!!!

PaperHearts_salebanner

Today we are celebrating a sale of PAPER HEARTS by Claire Contreras! This is the second book in her Hearts series, but it can be read as a standalone! If you haven't had a chance to read this series yet, now is the time to grab it! Celebrate Valentine's Day by getting this treat for yourself or a friend.

  25284952

PAPER HEARTS by Claire Contreras

Hearts Series, #2 (can be read as a standalone)

Blurb:

I lost her. No. I threw her away. She was my best friend.

I was never supposed to fall in love with her. I was careless. She was heartbroken.

I thought I was doing fine. But here she is, years later, forced to work with me, reminding me why I fell in love with her in the first place. And this time I'm going to do everything in my power to never let her go.

  PaperHearts_button

ON SALE FOR JUST .99 CENTS FOR A LIMITED TIME!

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo | GooglePlay

   

PURCHASE THE OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES

23545800

KALEIDOSCOPE HEARTS (Hearts, #1)

28673982

ELASTIC HEARTS (Hearts, #3)

--------------------------------------------

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  claireeditbw1

Claire Contreras is a New York Times Best Selling Author. Her books range from romantic suspense to contemporary romance and are currently translated in seven different languages.

She lives in Miami, Fl with her husband, two adorable boys, three bulldogs, and two stray cats that she refuses to admit are hers (even though they live on her porch, she named them, and continues to feed them). When she's not writing, she's usually lost in a book.


FOLLOW CLAIRE:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Newsletter

inkslinger-blogger-banner

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

"Long Way Home" by Katie McGarry - Release Day, Excerpt, and Giveaway!!!

LongWayHome-RDL-Banner  

The highly anticipated third book in Katie McGarry’s Thunder Road Series is being released today! LONG WAY HOME is a Young Adult Contemporary Romance being published by Harlequin Teen! Grab your copy of the next book in this emotionally charged series, and don’t miss Violet and Chevy’s story!

    LongWayHome-cover

LONG WAY HOME Synopsis:


Seventeen-year-old Violet has always been expected to sit back and let the boys do all the saving.

It’s the code her father, a member of the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, raised her to live by. Yet when her dad is killed carrying out Terror business, Violet knows it’s up to her to do the saving. To protect herself, and her vulnerable younger brother, she needs to cut all ties with the club—including Chevy, the boy she’s known and loved her whole life.

But when a rival club comes after Violet, exposing old secrets and making new threats, she’s forced to question what she thought she knew about her father, the Reign of Terror, and what she thinks she wants. Which means re-evaluating everything: love, family, friends . . . and forgiveness.

Caught in the crosshairs between loyalty and freedom, Violet must decide whether old friends can be trusted—and if she’s strong enough to be the one person to save them all.

Amazon | Kobo | BAM | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | IndieBound

   

"An intoxicating and unforgettable story that kept me glued to the page."

Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling author, on Walk the Edge

   
LONG WAY HME - RDL teaser 2

CHEVY

The instructions of the English homework I didn’t do hangs out from the top of my folder: Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, And sorry I could not travel both. Story of my life. According to my football coach, I chose wrongly on the two crap paths I had to face last week. I just ran into Coach on the way to English, and he ripped into me for my sorry decision-making skills when it came to me choosing to stand up for the Reign of Terror Motorcycle Club instead of a member of my football team. I didn’t just get my ass chewed out, his tirade made me late for English with no tardy note. Which is great since my English teacher hates late students like I hate riding my motorcycle in forty degree weather while it rains. I round the corner, then peek through the small window on the door of my class. Ms. Whitlock stands in front of her desk in her patented white button-down shirt, gray pencil skirt, and dark-rimmed glasses. From the back row, my best friend Razor meets my eyes and shakes his head. Damn. That means she’s in one of her moods where she’s refusing to let anyone in. I’m not a tail-tucked-between-my-legs type of guy, but this lady is one of the few who can reduce me to begging. If she doesn’t let me in, then she’ll mark me as absent, the front office will think I skipped, and that means I won’t be able to play at tonight’s football game. The window rattles when I knock. The entire class turns their heads in my direction, but Ms. Whitlock doesn’t. The muscles in my neck tighten. She is one of the hardest core people I know and my grandfather is the president of a motorcycle club. That says something. She starts for the white board and I knock on the door again. This time, Ms. Whitlock does look my way and she grants me the type of glare reserved for people who kick puppies. I got it. I’m late. I’m the scum of humanity, so let my ass in so I can play football. There’s this guy in my club, Pigpen. He’s about the same age as Ms. Whitlock, late twenties, and he’s a walking hard-on for this woman even though she would never give him the time of day. He practically runs into walls when she’s around because he’s too focused on checking her out. I don’t see gorgeous—all I see is seriously pissed off and the person standing between me and playing. Ms. Whitlock points at the clock over her desk. She’s telling me I can wait. If I’m lucky, she’ll open the door after the quiz that I’ll receive a zero on. If I’m not so lucky, she won’t open the door at all. Two pathetic paths and I could only travel one. Nowhere in that stupid poem did it mention there was good and bad to both paths and that sometimes it’s best not to choose, but to set up camp at the fork and do nothing at all. I slam my hand into the nearest locker, almost relishing the sting. “Feel better?” A glance across the hallway and I freeze. Doesn’t matter how many times I see her in a day, she still manages to take my breath away.

Add it to your Goodreads Now!

   
LONG WAY HME - RDL teaser 1

Don’t Miss the First Two Titles in the Thunder Road Series! Grab your copies today!

NOWHERE BUT HERE

WALK THE EDGE

   

    Katie McGarry - author pic
Katie McGarry Bio: Katie McGarry was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan. Katie is the author of full length YA novels, PUSHING THE LIMITS, DARE YOU TO, CRASH INTO YOU, TAKE ME ON, BREAKING THE RULES, NOWHERE BUT HERE, and WALK THE EDGE and the e-novellas, CROSSING THE LINE and RED AT NIGHT. Her debut YA novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS was a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction, a RT Magazine's 2012 Reviewer's Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel, a double Rita Finalist, and a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Teen Pick. DARE YOU TO was also a Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Best Book Award for Young Adult Contemporary fiction in 2013.    

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumbler | Instagram

  InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Blog Tour & Review: "Any Time, Any Place" by Jennifer Probst

ATAP_BLOGbanner    

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

Purchase in Paperback

Welcome to my stop on the "Any Time, Any Place" Blog Tour! I am really enjoying this series by Jennifer Probst, so read on for more information and my review because I think you all will really love it too! 

--------------------------

9781501124266

ANY TIME, ANY PLACE by Jennifer Probst

Billionaire Builders, #2

HGTV’s Property Brothers meets The Marriage Bargain in this second volume in the Billionaire Builders series, an all-new heart-wrenching and sexy contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst.   When she was a teen, Raven Bella Stratton’s father was killed in a horrible car crash. The bigger shock was the discovery of a woman with him—Diana Pierce—and their two fully packed suitcases with airline tickets to Paris. Devastated by her father’s betrayal, Raven went to live with her aunt, never truly overcoming the traumatic event. When she discovers that the mysterious woman had a family with a husband and three boys, Raven vows to leave the memory of her father behind.   Until Dalton Pierce visits one night and suddenly her past challenges her future...   Leaving his life in California behind to run Pierce Construction with his two older brothers, Dalton Pierce has enjoyed returning home and studying his passion of woodworking. But when he visits the local bar with his brothers one evening, he’s immediately drawn to the smart-mouthed, badass, sexy bartender who sets his body on fire. Unfortunately, she doesn’t seem as intrigued by him, and his multiple advances are met with rejection. When he offers to restore the bar back to its original glory, he begins to work with her on a daily basis, and falls harder. His plan of seduction slowly weaves a web around them both, until they are caught up in the spell. But Dalton doesn’t know the secret that can either destroy them both...or finally mend two broken hearts.  

ATAP_liveteaser2

PURCHASE IT NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

Purchase in Paperback
 
ATAP_teaser5


PURCHASE MORE BOOKS IN THE SERIES

Everywhere and Every Way

PURCHASE EVERYWHERE AND EVERY WAY NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

    AllOrNothingAtAll2
PRE-ORDER ALL OR NOTHING AT ALL (Coming July 25, 2017)
Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay
---------------------------------------------
 

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst

Jennifer Probst - Bio: Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean.   She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.

AUTHOR LINKS:
 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New



Thanks so much to Gallery Books and Inkslinger PR for the free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
This book may have been my favourite Jennifer Probst title yet, and that's saying something, because I've really enjoyed all five of her previous books that I've read. It's hard to say what made "Any Time, Any Place" special for me. Was it the characters, the setting, the plot, or the steamy romance? Most likely a combination of all four. There's just something about Probst's stories that makes me devour them like the big bag of Miss Vickie's "Sweet Chili and Sour Cream" chips I'm craving right now!

Dalton and Raven both claimed a little corner of my heart! Dalton is just one of those guys with charisma coming out the ying yang, and although he's been with probably more than his fair share of women, he's not smarmy about it at all. It seems like he's always straight up about his expectations, and he remains friends with most, if not all, of his previous one or two night stands. In short, he's not the relationship type of guy, but you can't really hate him for it because he's just so likable! It's kind of who he is, and we find out later on in the book why he's always been this way, and also why it's possible for him to be different with Raven.

Raven is just a wee bit more than kick ass! She is cool and interesting, and I love how she works out so hard beating up heavy bags and doing the ninja obstacle course thing. In another life, I want to be her! But just because she's tough, don't mistake her for cold or unfeeling. She's definitely got her vulnerable side, and I loved that Dalton was able to eventually break through her prickly shell to her soft underbelly, ha! It was very sweet to see Raven make Dalton work so hard, but she needed to protect herself, so I don't blame her in the least for not taking it easy on the guy.

Another thing I love about Probst's writing is how she's able to weave little side stories and secondary characters into her books without it seeming forced or redundant. Here we get to see Caleb and Morgan once more, and things are looking good with them. We also get to learn a little bit more about Sydney and Tristan, and see Raven experimenting with new events at her bar (ladies' poker night, anyone?) while Dalton further explores how he fits into Pierce Brothers Construction. These little extras thrown in, I know it's going to sound lame when I say it, but they really are delightful!

One thing that didn't make sense: why would Raven, knowing ahead of time what she knew about the Pierce brothers, decide to buy a bar and make a life for herself in their home town? She hated what they did to her father's reputation! Was she hoping for revenge? It didn't seem like it, but then she was so surprised when the three brothers ended up in her bar for the first time - it was a rather small town, so wasn't this scenario inevitable? For a smart and savvy gal, I would have thought Raven would prepare herself for this eventuality, so I'm not sure what the deal was with that. Oh well, I'm not too upset about it - it didn't really take away from my enjoyment of the story as a whole, so it's all good.

In short, I guess I'd say that fans of Probst's stories and writing style are probably going to love "Any Time, Any Place". And if you already aren't a fan, seriously, where have you been? You need to get on this, immediately!

My rating:

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Review: "A Million Miles Away" by Lara Avery

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet. When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister. As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.



Something funny happened on the way to me finishing this book: I decided I no longer cared about any of the characters. I think it was around the scene where Kelsey goes Christmas tree shopping. All I could think about was how sorry I felt for the poor kid carrying the Christmas tree for her! And really, if I'm a third of the way into a book and I'm connecting more with, basically, a non-character, then it's time to just let. The book. Go!  I'm pulling an Elsa, because my time is too precious to read about characters I feel absolutely nothing for.

My rating:


Tuesday, January 24, 2017

"Any Time, Any Place" by Jennifer Probst - Release Day Launch!

  ATAP_live

Today we are sharing the release of ANY TIME, ANY PLACE by Jennifer Probst. This is the second title in the Billionaire Builders series. You won't want to miss this incredible book, and check out the links below for other titles available now from the series.

 

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

Purchase in Paperback
 

--------------------------

9781501124266

ANY TIME, ANY PLACE by Jennifer Probst

Billionaire Builders, #2

BLURB:

HGTV’s Property Brothers meets The Marriage Bargain in this second volume in the Billionaire Builders series, an all-new heart-wrenching and sexy contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst.   When she was a teen, Raven Bella Stratton’s father was killed in a horrible car crash. The bigger shock was the discovery of a woman with him—Diana Pierce—and their two fully packed suitcases with airline tickets to Paris. Devastated by her father’s betrayal, Raven went to live with her aunt, never truly overcoming the traumatic event. When she discovers that the mysterious woman had a family with a husband and three boys, Raven vows to leave the memory of her father behind.   Until Dalton Pierce visits one night and suddenly her past challenges her future...   Leaving his life in California behind to run Pierce Construction with his two older brothers, Dalton Pierce has enjoyed returning home and studying his passion of woodworking. But when he visits the local bar with his brothers one evening, he’s immediately drawn to the smart-mouthed, badass, sexy bartender who sets his body on fire. Unfortunately, she doesn’t seem as intrigued by him, and his multiple advances are met with rejection. When he offers to restore the bar back to its original glory, he begins to work with her on a daily basis, and falls harder. His plan of seduction slowly weaves a web around them both, until they are caught up in the spell. But Dalton doesn’t know the secret that can either destroy them both...or finally mend two broken hearts.  

ATAP_liveteaser2

PURCHASE IT NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

Purchase in Paperback
 
ATAP_teaser5

ATAP_teaser6

PURCHASE MORE BOOKS IN THE SERIES

Everywhere and Every Way

PURCHASE EVERYWHERE AND EVERY WAY NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | GooglePlay

    AllOrNothingAtAll2
PRE-ORDER ALL OR NOTHING AT ALL (Coming July 25, 2017)
Amazon  |  iBooks  |  B&N  |  Kobo  |  GooglePlay
---------------------------------------------
 

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst

Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean.   She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.

AUTHOR LINKS:
 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New